Scientific Advisory Board

Prof. Dr. Detlev Grützmacher

Prof. Grützmacher studied Physics at the Georgia Augusta University of Göttingen and the Rheinisch Westfälische Technische Hochschule in Aachen (Germany). In 1991 he received his PhD degree with special honours, awarded with the Borchers medal of the University of Aachen for his dissertation on semiconductor lasers.

Between 1991-1993, he stayed as a postdoctoral researcher at the IBM Thomas Watson Research Centre in Yorktown Heights, focusing on high speed hetero-bipolar transistors as well as resonant tunneling devices. His work was honoured with an IBM research division award in 1992 and a patent invention award.

In 1993, he joined the Laboratory of Micro- and Nanotechnology at the Paul-Scherrer-Institute in Switzerland, heading the Si nanosystems activity focussing on Si-Ge nanostructures for optoelectronic and electronic applications.

Since October 2006 he is director of the Institute for Semiconductor Nanoelectronics (PGI-9) at the Forschungszentrum Jülich. His research spans from fundamental science in topological insulators, transport phenomena in nanowires and phase change materials to device oriented investigations based on CMOS technology. He is author and co-author of more than 300 scientific papers.

Prof. em. Dr. Beat Hotz-Hart

Beat Hotz-Hart studied economics and political science at the University of Zurich; PhD 1978. He has held appointments as fellow and lecturer at the Universities of Zurich and Fribourg and the Swiss Federal Institute for Technology (ETH); and has held a 3 year National Science Fellowship for advanced researchers: University of Münster/D, Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin, Visiting Fellow University of Warwick (UK), Harvard University (Department of Economics).

1986 Habilitation at the University of Fribourg; after being head of regional economics at the Institute for Regional Planning at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) for 5 years, 1987 collaborator of the Swiss Federal Department of Economic Affairs; several functions up to Vice-Director (1994-2010) of the Swiss Federal Office for Education and Technology with the focus on innovation promotion activities.

2006/2007 head of Commission for Technology and Innovation, CTI ad interim. He passed the Executive Program 'Senior Managers in Government', J.F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University.

1991-2013 he was Professor of the Department of Economics at the University of Zurich.

Currently he is Senior Member of the Staff Headquarters, ETH Board, member of the steering committee of the National Research Program, NRP 70 "Energy Turnaround" and NRP 71 "Managing Energy Consumption" and member of the advisory board (Kuratorium) of the Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research ISI.

His current activities include development and implementation of policy in education, technology and innovation on Swiss federal level and research on innovation and institutional arrangements, competitiveness, structural adjustment and economic policy.

Prof. Dr. Dieter P. Kern

Prof. Kern heads the Nanotechnology and Nanostructures group at the
Institute for Applied Physics , University of Tuebingen as a full professor.

He joined Tuebingen University in 1993 after 15 years at the IBM T.J. Watson Research Center in Yorktown Heights, where he managed the "Nanofabrication and Exploratory Devices" group for more than 10 years and was co-recipient of the 1997 IEEE Cledo Brunetti Award.

His research focuses on electron beam lithography based micro- and nano-structuring of semiconductors, metals and insulators with applications in nanoelectronics, nanophotonics, bio-nanotechnology and medical technology.

Dr. Helmut Schift

Dr. Schift is a leading researcher and expert on micro and nanopatterning technologies. He is currently the head of the INKA-PSI Group in the Laboratory for Micro- and Nanotechnology at the Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI).

He is actively involved in the development of nanoimprint lithography (NIL) as an alternative nanopatterning method for device fabrication and working in various national and international projects on stamp fabrication, hybrid technologies and innovative 3-D nanomolding.

He received his diploma in Electrical Engineering from the University of Karlsruhe, Germany and performed his Ph.D. studies at the Institute of Microtechnology Mainz (IMM), Germany.

After his graduation in 1994, he joined the PSI as a research staff member. Since 2001, he is a lecturer at the University of Applied Sciences Nordwestern Switzerland . In 2011, he was employed by the Danish Technical University as a guest professor.

Prof. Dr. Friso van der Veen

Prof. van der Veen was appointed Full Professor of Experimental Physics at ETH-Zürich in May 2000. He is head of the Research Department of Synchrotron Radiation and Nanotechnology at the Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI) and Deputy Director of PSI.

Born in 1949 in The Netherlands, he graduated at the University of Utrecht and received his PhD in 1978 with a thesis on a surface science topic.

After spending in 1979 a year as postdoc at IBM Yorktown Heights, he joined in 1980 the staff at the FOM-Institute for Atomic and Molecular Physics in Amsterdam.

In 1997 he was appointed full professor at the Van der Waals-Zeeman Institute of the University of Amsterdam. His current research interests lie in the application of synchrotron x-ray scattering techniques for studies of the structural properties of solid-liquid interfaces and of confined fluid films.

In 1998 Prof. van der Veen has been awarded the IUVSTA Prize for Science. He is a corresponding member of the Royal Academy of Sciences of The Netherlands. He has (co-)authored more than 240 publications in peer-reviewed journals, which led to ca 8000 citations (h-index 53).